Extension Council

Extension Council

The Government  Of Kerala have promulgated ordinance No. 46 of 2021 amending KUFOS act 2010(Act 5 of 2011) ,The Hon’ble Vice Chancellor vide note VC/26/2021 dated 12/03/2021 directed to submit a note to theGoverning Council regarding the nomination of  two Extension Education experts from outside the University, a representative of Fish farmer and representative of Fishermen for constituting Extension Council.The Extension Council re-constituted by the Chancellor in every 4years through notification

Vide reference 2nd above, The 74th Governing Council meeting held on 12/05/2021 has decided to nominate the members to the Extension Council

Vide reference 3rd above Section 19 A(1) of Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies Act 2010 (amended vide ordinance 46 of 2021), The Chancellor constitute on 15.06.2021 the Extension Council with the following members

I)Vice Chancellor- Chairperson

II)Pro- Vice Chancellor

III)Extension Director – Member Secretary

IV) Director of Research

 V) The Dean of all Faculties

  1. Dean , Faculty of Fisheries Science
  2. Dean, Faculty of Ocean Science & Technology
  3. Dean, Faculty of Fisheries Management
  4. Dean, Faculty of Fisheries Engineering

VI)   The Director of each Regional Centre

  1. Assistant Professor & Head, Fisheries Station, Puduveypu
  2. Special Officer, KUFOS Regional Centre, Payyannur, Kannur
  3. Special Officer, KUFOS Regional Centre , Kollam


VII) Two Extension Education experts from outside the University nominated by the Governing Council

  1. Jiju P. Alex

Director of Extension

Kerala Agricultural University

KAU P.O, Vellanikkara, Thrissur- 680 656

2. C. Ramachandran

Principal Scientist

ICAR- CMFRI, Kochi- 682 018

VIII) An outstanding Fish farmer representative nominated by the Governing Council

Shri. T. Purushothaman

Azad Bhavan


Kannur 670 307

IX) A Fishermen representative nominated by the Governing Council

Shri. Raju K.S

Kozhissery House

Valappad Beach  P.O

Thrissur – 680 567

X) The Director of Fisheries or an officer not below the rank of joint Director of the Department of Fisheries, nominated by him