University Governing Council

University Governing Council

As per the KUFOS 1st Statute the Governing Council shall be reconstituted in every four year.  In exercise of the Powers conferred under clause 72(1) Chapter II of KUFOS Statute Hon’ble Chancellor of KUFOS has reconstituted the Governing Council of KUFOS vide Notification No. GS3-3255/2020 dated 19.04.2021 as the term of former Governing Council expired on 23.11.2020.  Hence the constitution of the 3rd Governing Council of Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies is hereby notified w.e.f. 19.04.2021 with the following members.

1.Ex-officio members

I.the Vice Chancellor

II.the Pro Vice Chancellor

III.the Secretary to Government, Fisheries Department or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary of the Fisheries Department nominated by him.

IV.the Secretary to Government, Higher Education Department or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary of the  Department of Higher Education, nominated by him.

V.the Secretary to Government, Finance Department or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary of the Finance Department nominated by him.

VI.the Law Secretary or an officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary nominated by him.

VII.the Dean of all faculties

  1. The Dean, Faculty of Fisheries Science
  2. The Dean, Faculty of Ocean Science & Technology
  3. The Dean, Faculty of Fisheries Management
  4. The Dean, Faculty of Fisheries Engineering

VIII.the Registrar

2.Elected members

    i)Each teacher elected from each faculty by a single transferrable vote from among the Heads of the      Departments and the teachers of the University Faculty; of whom at least one shall be a woman and their order shall be in the English alphabetical order of the faculty.

a)The Faculty of Fisheries Science                           – Vacant

b)The Faculty of Ocean Science & Technology      – Vacant

c)The Faculty of Fisheries Management                 – Vacant

d)The Faculty of Fisheries Engineering                   – Vacant

   ii)One member elected by voting from the full-time regular students in the University

Shri.Muhammed Shibily  L.F.

3.Nominated members

   i)two members of the Legislative Assembly, as nominated by the Government :Vacant

   ii)one representative of the Director General of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)

Dr. G. Venkateshwarlu

ADG (EQR), ICAR, New Delhi- 110012

   iii)one representative from fishing community having knowledge in the field of Fisheries and                       Marine Studies, nominated by the Government  : Vacant

   iv)an Excellent Scientist in Ocean Studies, nominated by the Ministry of Geology

Dr. T. Srinivas Kumar


Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS)

(Ministry of Earth Sciences),

‘Ocean valley”, Pragathi Nagar

Nizampet (S.O.), Hyderabad – 500 090

    v)one representative of Fish farmer, nominated by the Government :Vacant

    vi)an eminent educationalist having expertise in the field of Fisheries and not below the rank of Professor, outside the University

Dr. N. Felix


Directorate of Incubation and Vocational Training in Aquaculture

Tamil Nadu Dr. J. Jayalalithaa Fisheries University

ECR, Muttukadu, Chennai – 603112

   vi)one representative from the registered Fishermen Organization, nominated by the                                 Government: Vacant

  vii)one representative from the Fisheries Industry, nominated by the Government: Vacant

  viii)a woman social worker : Vacant

The tenure of Governing Council shall be 4 years w.e.f. 19.04.2021.